Give Thanks

Thanksgiving. A day to sit with family and friends over a delicious meal, talk about what we have been up to in the last few days or weeks, relive stories from holidays past, learn from the wisdom of our elders. A chance to remove ourselves from the stress du jour and be consumed by our appreciation for each of the ways our lives have been blessed or enriched or made better this year. A moment to truly love those who have picked us up when we have fallen (or waited patiently, knowing we could pick ourselves up if given just a chance to recognize that). A day to re-celebrate all that is worth celebrating in our lives.

What a beautiful holiday.

Thanks to my family and friends; your grace and unending support lift me everyday.

A special thanks to those who made it to the marathon and cheered me from Mile 5, 8, 13, 21, 23, 25, and 26.2. Accomplishing something like that reminds me I can do anything and also that I do nothing alone.

A special special thanks to Aaron for hanging out with a Vicodin-ed me at the ER in the middle of the night. And for taking me grocery shopping. I will probably never get to live down throwing tuna at you. Or crying over flavored coffee 3 weeks later.

This year I am thankful for the simple things: learning to make jam with my sister, a new-to-me car that is probably safer than the last one, the neverending entertainment that my cat provides, knees that carried me through the Boundary Waters and across finish lines, celebrating weddings and babies and birthdays and lives well-lived, car trips, making new friends, feeling loved all days.

Happy Thanksgiving, friends. Love and be loved.

Leave a Reply

