Reverb11: Day 8

Another from Diana Prichard.

What was the worst decision of 2011? Why was it the worst?

The reason I chose this prompt for Day 8 is because a very similar question came up in a recent job interview and I struggled terribly to answer.

The question was “Tell me about a time that you failed.”

You know why I hate words like ‘failed’? Because it implies that you gave up or learned nothing. I have tried tons of things that didn’t work out like I wanted them to, but they weren’t failures. A lot of unsuccessful attempts have taught me on of the most important lessons: This takes work. If you want to be good at something, you gotta earn it, kid.

What a dumb interview question. But you also can’t say “Sorry sir, I’ve never failed.” Boy, that makes you look like a total ass.

So worst decision in 2011? I can’t think of one. I can’t think of a choice I made that I know hurt me or hurt someone else. I can’t think of anything I am ashamed of. I can’t really think of anything I would want to take back or re-do, except maybe re-do awesome things to make them MOST AWESOME!

You know, if you can look back on 11.5 months and say, “I don’t regret any of that” you are sitting in a pretty wonderful spot. Life is good.

Leave a Reply

