Reverb11: Day 11

From Weverb11— a true community approach to the Reverb project. 

What new things do you want to try/accomplish in 2012?

  1.  A half-marathon. After completing the marathon, other runners came out of the woodwork and every single one said, “You did a marathon! So cool! [High five] You know, I think the half-marathon distance is just perfect. A joyful experience.” Thanks for the advice… at least a day late, if not a dollar short.
  2. I am still working on organization. Which was on my list of things to try in 2011.
  3. Be a little more spontaneous without being reckless. At first I wanted to be more spontaneous because I thought it was a personality trait that other people liked and I thought spontaneity was sort of a kindred trait to extroversion and creativity. But really, I want to be a little more spontaneous because sometimes my compulsion to “have a plan” keeps me from doing things where there is no plan in place.
  4. Send more mail. I have never heard anyone in my life say, “I hate getting mail. Cards from friends are lame. Ugh, handwritten notes are so 1996.”
  5. I would love to get another opportunity to camp in the Boundary Waters. I don’t know if my schedule will allow it and with the huge fire this fall, the un-damaged parts are likely to be more difficult to get a permit to enter.
  6. PR at the Buffalo Triathlon (?). Every year, in March or April, I feel freakishly ready for my June triathlon. I feel fit and energized and ready. And then something ALWAYS happens between then and the last 2 weeks before the race that completely derails my training and preparation. This year, I am hoping to forge on all the way through to the race, and have my best year. I would love to be around the 1:30 mark, but that would be shaving quite a bit of time off.
  7. Working out in the morning 2 days a week. It is incredibly hard for me to pry myself out of my fabulous bed. There are so many good things about laying in bed for a little extra time in the morning: a nice light pouring in the window, the calming heat of the electric blanket, the snuggles of the kitty. But! There are good things about getting to the gym: starts your day with a burst of energy, keeps your evenings free, and I think getting up early keeps me more productive all day.
Leave a Reply

