Reverb11: Day 15

Party.  What social gathering rocked your socks off in 2011?  Describe the people, music, food, drink, clothes, shenanigans.

I am a girl who loves a big shindig- fancy dresses? Yes please. Or maybe outrageous 80s costumes? Oh yeah. Dozens of new people to meet? Let me get my stories ready.

For me, though, this year was the year of small gatherings.

A few years ago, one of my good friends from high school moved to Rhode Island to work at a school out there which meant she only returned home during school breaks– for about a month in the summers and a week over the Christmas holiday. But this year, she returned in the fall for her sister’s wedding and gave us one night of her precious and limited time.

This gathering included her (Amy) and her boyfriend who I had heard a ton about, but never met, my best friend from high school Bridget, and then myself and Aaron. Just a simple group of 5. We started the evening with wine and beer and appetizers at my place, which gave me the chance to show off my humble apartment and make 2 of my guests itchy with cat allergies. Then we walked down the street to a local pub for an extended evening of dinner, unique beers, and tons of stories. There was laughing and delving into our awkward teenage years and getting to know the new people in each other’s lives.

It was small. It was simple. It was casual. But it was filled with friendship and I left that evening feeling so full of love. Some things, regardless of time and distance, never change. Thank goodness for that.

Leave a Reply

