Reverb11: Day 19

From Megan, via email, at Everlasting Present

What lessons did you learn about yourself this year? 

This immediately reminded me of a marathon t-shirt I once saw (yes, I am going to talk about marathons all the time, forever). The shirt says:

At mile 20, I thought I was dead.

At mile 22, I wished I was dead.

At mile 24, I knew I was dead.

At mile 26.2, I knew I had become to tough to kill.

This is true of my marathon experience, but I think it is also a good reminder that when life gets really hard, it’s because the reward is just on the other side. And good things require good work.

The lesson I have learned this year is that I can push through those times where I wish things were different and simply be thankful for what I have (which is so much) and through some work, the accomplishments and things I covet will be mine when the time is right.

Leave a Reply

