“Do or Do Not, There is No Try.”

Actually, there is a try. Or at least a tri. And yet, a famous green Jedi Master’s words still apply. Do or do not.

So I did.

For the 4th year in a row, I ran (and swam and biked) the Buffalo Triathlon in quiet, friendly Buffalo, Minnesota.

Honestly, I was a bit under-prepared. I didn’t swim as often as I should have. I never did a brick workout (bike + run in the same workout). A week out from the race, I went on vacation where the only real exercise I got was ab-killing laughter with college friends.

Luckily, winning isn’t the reason I do this.

After my very first triathlon, I wrote that the experience was greater than the sum of its parts, and the same was true this year. The swim was exceptionally cold and choppy. The  new pavement on the cycling course made it faster than years past, but the city has yet to remove the monstrous hills that seem to be around every single corner. By the time I got to the run, I was all worn out and the guy vomiting next to me really ruined my appetite for sport.

My time is not my best (10 whole minutes in the water?! What was I doing?!) and that leg I broke in the fall gave me quite a pile of trouble on the run. But since there is no ‘try,’ I just kept doing and as I ran through the park into the finish chute, I actually thought It’s already over? I just started. 

And after an early morning wake up, a bunch of soggy Shot Blok chews, lake weeds in my sports bra, and a cramped hamstring we were celebrating another finish.

1st time or 4th time– it doesn’t really matter; it’s still pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

