Give Thanks

We can only be said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our treasures.

– Thornton Wilder

Last Thanksgiving I was in a remarkably different place than I am this year. Last year I had been unemployed for a month and the novelty of so much ‘free time’ had worn off and the anxiety of absolutely no job prospects was starting to sink in. Even though I knew I still had a lot of good things and good people working in my life, at times, it required great effort to really feel thankful.

It is easy to feel thankful this year, so much so that I almost forgot that hopeless feeling of last year. Almost.

I am thankful for the opportunity to work at an organization that values my skills, challenges me, and harnesses my creativity. All in the name of a goal I can truly stand behind and support: making Minnesota communities healthy places to live, work, learn, and play.

I am thankful for our new home, it’s perfect-for-us urban location, our generous and friendly neighbors, and that we are able to use this house (and it’s fenced yard!) to provide a ‘forever-family’ for our mischeivous but delightful pets, Jasper and Basil.

I am thankful for a running season that brought new distances, new courses, a mud run for charity, and some clarity my running goals and what I want to achieve in the ‘off-season’ and next year. And can I get an “Amen!” for no ER visits or broken bones, and an essentially injury-free year? Amen, indeed.

I am thankful to have traveled this year and have 2 trips that reminded me how beautiful and awe-inspiring the natural world around us is. A good reminder that if you never get lost, you never get found.

I am thankful for my family and friends, who cheer when times are good, gently nudge when I resist, and lift me up when I simply no longer want to continue. Very little would be possible without them.

And I am thankful for the little things, the things that truly make the world go ’round on a daily basis: the gentle nudge of a goofy greyhound that missed me while I was at work, the opportunity to read a good book on the bus every day, happy hours and birthday parties and weddings and baby showers and all the other things that mark the events of our lives, the smell of roasting tomatoes, coffee that is automatically ready at 6:30 in the morning, having someone to cook for, walks, good beer, friends that help you move… and then build stuff… and install stuff… and put your things away.

To overcoming, excelling, enjoying, adventuring, and looking forward, I give thanks.

Happy Thanksgiving, friends. Love and be loved, on this and every day.

 

 

 

One thought on “Give Thanks”

Leave a Reply

