Reverb 12 | Prompt 6 | Intention

This prompt comes from Kat (@kljwm), who I started following this summer because she is another Twin Cities runner. She is remarkably funny, and never hesitates to tell it like it is at her blog, Tenaciously Yours. Her Reverb posts have been insightful and beautiful and are definitely worth the read.

Intention: What were some of your mantras from 2012 and how did you come by them?  Will they remain the same for next year – if not, what new ones will you set?

Every morning in Africa, a gazelle wakes up. It knows it must run faster than the fastest lion, or it will be killed.

Every morning a lion wakes up. It knows it must run faster than the slowest gazelle, or it will starve to death.

It does not matter whether you are the lion or the gazelle. When the sun comes up, you had better be running.

I do not remember when exactly I came across this saying, but I do know I was looking for a little motivation for my running. I think it was very early in my running journey, perhaps around Spring 2009.

I loved it for everything it said about running. On days I was feeling vulnerable like the gazelle- slow, out of shape, behind my goals- I needed to put in the work. On days I was feeling victorious like the lion- PRs, easy long runs- I still needed to put in the work to maintain my strength and pace and to meet new challenges. And the punchline, really, is: get up and run! It served a great purpose in motivating me to keep running through my worst and best days.

Somewhere towards the end of graduate school when shit got suddenly and painfully real stress started to mount, this running mantra easily found it’s way becoming my life mantra. No matter what was happening to me, around me, or without me, I had 2 choices: give up and be eaten (or starve) or get up and run (in the figurative sense this time).

Every morning when I wake up, there is someone who would love to walk in my place. I don’t have it all, but I have enough and I have love. I feel that if the sun comes up and I am not running, I am wasting all of the blessings and hard work and support that got me to where I am. I am taking advantage of the privileges I have had when others would give so much to be where I am at.

This mantra will certainly stick with me in 2013, as it has since 2009. It’s just. . . such a good one. But I think I will add this one for 2013 also, as it directly relates to my attitude about planning the silly details of a wedding:

Pinned Image

I want things to feel like “us,” I want it to be pretty and relaxed and all the things I have dreamed for my wedding day since I was a teenager. But, I want to put more energy into planning our marriage– talking less about colored glass and more about our future; less about floral arrangements and more about how we will raise our kids.

I do, however, want to try on a million white dresses.

Leave a Reply

