Reverb 12 | Prompt 12 | Photo

Sift through all of the photos of you from the past year.  Choose the one that best captures you; either who you are, or who you strive to be.  Find the shot of you that is worth a thousand words.  Share the image, who shot it, where, and what it best reveals about you.

It’s one of the best photographs of me running that exists. And I have an inappropriate amount of love for those shoes. My face is a bit strained silly, and the reason for that is that I am trying to take advantage of a photo op, but I am also about to break down and cry (from happiness) and run into the crowd to hug my parents.

This is at Mile 6 of the Twin Cities 10 Mile in October 2012, on Summit Avenue in Saint Paul, Minnesota. And I had so many things to be happy about. I had been in this same place a year prior, much less happy. Then it was Mile 22 of the marathon. 6 miles earlier I had hit the mental / emotional wall, and was still sort of wiping the snot off my face from crying that out for 4 miles. Then, at Mile 21 I got injured. By the time I reached this same place I was scared, hurt, and a little part of me wanted to quit.

Fast forward one year, and I was feeling amazing. Maybe it’s because I was running almost the same race as last year, minus the pesky 16 miles in the middle? But really, I just felt strong. Strong in running, strong in life, strong in myself.

I am not a good runner– after being at it for several years, I am still slow and I am sure my form leaves much to be desired. Some days my performance makes me angry and some days are painful, so it is nice to see pictures of myself running (even though most of them are no where near this good– I have an unusually bad case of Race Face). We don’t often get to see proof of our own boundless joy.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Reverb 12 | Prompt 12 | Photo”

  1. Mizuno Wave Rider 15’s. I LOVE them. I see that the 16’s were recently released, so I don’t know how much longer they will be selling these, but I am sure the 16’s are a great shoe too.

Leave a Reply

