Reverb 12 | Prompt 27 | Hidden Talents

This prompt comes from Kat (@kljwm), who I started following this summer because she is another Twin Cities runner. She is remarkably funny, and never hesitates to tell it like it is at her blog, Tenaciously Yours. Her Reverb posts have been insightful and beautiful and are definitely worth the read.

Hidden talent.  Do you have a hidden talent?  Dazzle us.

The short answer is simply, “No.”

And then there are 2 explanatory answers, one short in length and one a bit longer.

First, I would venture to guess that most people who are off the charts extroverted have few or no hidden talent. If I am good at something, you already know. Hell, you already know the stuff I am mediocre at. There are essentially no secrets here, even of the hidden talent variety.

Second, I do not spend much time mastering any one thing. I feel like hidden talents are things that people have worked on diligently, just privately or without much fanfare. If you have a hidden talent, you do that thing well. I spend a lot of time figuring out what The Next Thing will be, not mastering the last thing. Which is why I can sort of run, sort of paint, sort of crochet, barely sew, kinda bake, navigate a canoe in calm water, and so on and so on.

If being a Jill of All Trades, Master of None counts as a hidden talent, then I would almost have one. Except I just told you about it, so it’s not so hidden anyway.

 

Leave a Reply

