Reverb 12 | Prompt 29 | Be

Who do you want to be in 2013? This is not resolution setting or goal setting. This is not a list of the things you want to do or the external ways you want others to define you. From the inside– your heart, soul, or gut– who do want to be?

I picked this prompt because I wrote about it last year and I was curious if my idea of who I wanted to be would be different.

What I wrote this year, for 2013:

In 2013, I want to be someone that can be counted on for many things– for a good laugh, for support, when a friend needs a sounding board or good idea.

I want to be a coworker who is efficient and professional, creative and innovative, but also a fun person that others enjoy working with.

I want to be the person that my dog is happy to see at the door at the end of the work day and that the cat curls up with on the couch. I want them to always know that they are safe and loved with me and that my home will be theirs as long as they live.

I am excited that 2013 will bring with it new duties as wife. Not duties like housework and laundry, but the harder tasks of putting another person first, loving completely selflessly, and a deep and honest forgiveness.

I want to be a person who works hard for what they want, but is not displeased by imperfection, mistakes, and ‘almosts.’

What I wrote last year, for the person I wanted to be in 2012:

I want to be a joy to others. I want to be a friend you want to spend time with. I want to be a generous friend, girlfriend, sister, daughter, neighbor, coworker. I want to be a good-ish cook. I want to be someone you can share your excitement with and I want to share my excitement with you. I want to be healthy but realistic- milkshakes happen! I want to make sure the people in my life know I love them. I want to be someone who makes you laugh and laugh and laugh. I want to be a good pet owner and make J-Cat’s home a happy and healthy one. I want to be proud but not boastful. I want to be a champion for the things I am passionate about. I want to be happy and I want to be myself, unembarrassed.

Not too different, year to year. I think that’s a good thing.

 

Leave a Reply

