Reverb 12 | Prompt 31 | A Year From Now

Last year’s Reverb 11 final prompt was Where do you hope to be January 1, 2013? which is tomorrow. Are you where you thought you would be a year ago? Where do you hope to be January 1, 2014?

Last year, I wrote:

There are some things I want to change between now and January 1, 2013: I want to have a real job with all the perks that come with it. I want to be injury-free. I want my house to be clean!  I want the long-waited wishes of several of my friends to come true.

There are some things I don’t want to change between now and January 1, 2013: I want to be surrounded with good friends and a healthy family. I want to be moving my body and feeling well. I want to be filled to the brim with love for my community. I want to be in a place where I am thankful for the year I have had and looking forward to the new year I have been gifted.

Success! (on some accounts). I do have a real job. And I love it. I amhappily injury free, which meant sidelining a few goals for 2012 but even at the end of the year I do not feel regret or as if any missed opportunities passed me by. My friends have not all gotten precisely what they were asking for in 2012, but I have watched each one grow through challenges and be surprised by little blessings in disguise. I will continue to support them and hope for them that 2013 will be “Their Year!” A clean house? Well, it’s livable and that’s what counts.

I feel confident that I am very near to where I wanted to be when I wrote that a year ago. I still struggle here and there with figuring out adulthood, and managing my own expectations between what is fantasy and what my capabilities and resources are. 2012 was an incredible year and I am happy to be standing on this side of it in the shape that I am in.

On where I want to be January 1, 2014: I want to calmly ride the status quo for a bit– same job, same house, same pets, same car. Same, same, same. Because stability in some places makes room for adventures in others. I want to look back at 2013 feeling as if I made wise financial decisions, was good to myself and others, and accomplished new things. I want to be connected to my community in a positive and productive way. Just like this year, I want to stand on the edge of a new beginning with enthusiasm be ready to take on the year with passion and gusto.

 

With this post, the Reverb 12 project comes to a close. Thanks for reading along (if you made it this far) and for being patient as some days came and went with no post and others saw 5 or 6 catch up posts! May you tuck your 2012 snugly in your blankets of good memories. When the sun rises tomorrow morning, be it in clear or cloudy skies, may you feel refreshed by a new year with new opportunities, new friendships, and new ways to live well. May The Universe look favorably on you and your loved ones for another 365 days. Love, Kate.

Leave a Reply

