Reverb 13 | December 1 | At The Start

At the start: Where did you start 2013? Give us some background on the year.

The Actual Start.

As the clock struck midnight and we bid adieu to 2012, I lifted a coffee mug of champagne over the dining table (we keep things classy here), surrounded by an intimate collection of friends and family who had joined us for celebration in our house, and kissed my fiance. Things that had not existed the previous New Year’s Eve.

And of course, the next evening Aaron and I discovered the only Chinese takeout place in the city open on New Year’s Day and poked through piles of fried rice and Szechuan chicken, promising ourselves we would never allow ourselves to experience a hangover like that ever again. Because we’re simply  not as young as we used to be.

The Figurative Start.

The start of 2013 was markedly different than the start of the last several years. And there is no good way to say this without sounding like 2010 through 2012 & 1/2 were totally awful, which I can assure they were not. But they were really hard. And, it turns out, a tough phase that lots of 20-somethings go through– and even survive!– according to pretty much every 30-, 40-, 50-, and 60-something I know.

As this year started, I really felt like celebrating the wonderful, wonderful year that 2012 hand been and I was genuinely anticipating so much goodness out of 2013. I couldn’t have really imagined how good it was going to get. As I dipped my toes into the first minutes of 2013, I had no idea how the days would fill up with love and adventures and how everything would sort of fall in to the most perfect of places.

I started the year in a place of such hopefulness and happiness, but with no real expectations. Eleven months of life experience between me and that start, I can’t help but wonder if that made all the difference?

start

Leave a Reply

