Reverb 13 | December 2 | Shine

Shine: What was the best moment of 2013?

I had pinned exactly 237 beautiful images of brides, bridal gowns, hipster table arrangements, simple cake designs, and program layouts.

I had read at least 10 wedding blogs daily for no less than 6 months.

I had created, sorted, color-coded, crossed off, and relabeled no fewer than 5 spreadsheets.

I blogged every. single. week. for 6 months on the hilarious, dramatic, heartbreaking, and silly ins and outs of my own wedding planning adventures.

I remained uncharacteristically cynical right up to the night before, telling everyone (but mostly myself), “Well, certainly something is bound to go wrong. It won’t be perfect, but it will be good. I don’t think it will be, like, the best day of my life because the stress, and the this, and the that…”

wedding

But this? This was the best moment. Or really, the best series of beautiful moments strung together like perfect twinkling lights.

The people were perfect and surprised us in beautiful and hilarious ways throughout the day– a gift we had unknowingly given ourselves when we decided we didn’t have to control every detail.

The week after our wedding, I was struggling as much as I am now to put the whole day into words, but I wrote this:

I have never felt more loved, more beautiful, more blessed, more certain, or more excited. I kept wanting to tell people, “Life has never been this good!” but that’s not true. Life has always been this good. It is so good.

Leave a Reply

