Reberb 13 | December 6 | Blowing Out the Candles

Blowing out the candles: You’re another year older!  How did you celebrate the passage of another year?  Did it turn out the way you had hoped?

2013 was sort of The Year of The Wedding ’round these parts, which lends itself to lots of chatter about love. Wedding showers and deep conversations with bridesmaids lend themselves to questions like, “When did you know you loved Aaron?” and “When did you know you wanted to marry Aaron?” And you sort of try to think of these big things that will make great stories… did I know that I wanted to marry him when turned around in an Ace Hardware parking lot after we had said our goodbyes from a date at a nearby restaurant and said, “Hey, actually, so, I think I love you.”? I’m not sure. Did I know I wanted to marry him when we took a trip to the Boundary Waters? I don’t know– I was just happy we had survived the trip and I didn’t want to kill him.

But if you spend too much time waiting for someone to yell something at you, you will miss all the times they try to whisper in your ear.

(This is where we related this back to my birthday.)

My birthday this summer was on a Wednesday, which is, dare I say, the most inconvenient day for a birthday out of all the days. I didn’t really want a party because I didn’t really want to plan a party because I was already planning a bigger party and it was a lot of work. So much work. Aaron and I decided to bike to Barbette, a fabulous little french cafe in Uptown. We had lovely meals and wine and I ordered myself a piece of birthday carrot cake. It was the size of a house cat. And so delicious. And I took it down because: 1) We rode bikes and 2) birthday.

cake
The picture almost doesn’t do the size justice but look how teeny tiny that strawberry looks. And you’re thinking “What strawberry?” and I am like, “Right?! Dwarfed by the awesomeness of the cake.”

A pretty low-key celebration. And back at the house, Aaron gave me a birthday gift.

space jam
On Blu-Ray, because you wouldn’t want to watch a cinematic classic like this in low-def.

Sometimes it isn’t always obvious why you love the one you do, but sometimes they buy you Space Jam for your birthday because you loved it in the 5th grade and you secretly love it still. And then it’s really, really obvious why you love them.

One thought on “Reberb 13 | December 6 | Blowing Out the Candles”

Leave a Reply

