Reverb 13 | December 11 | Fail

FAIL: What just didn’t work out this year?  Is that okay with you?  Or are you going to try, try again?

I don’t remember failing this year, which means whatever I did I am either okay with or just not finished trying yet.

Oh sure, there were plenty of things that didn’t go well. A winter season that extended well into spring messed up a 10 mile event and the last few weeks of half-marathon training, which translated into an abysmal half-marathon in Fargo. Which eventually translated to the summer lightest on running I have had in years. But it allowed me to focus on cycling and find my way back to running when I was ready to love it, not feel obligated by it.

I got a new bike- a touring/mountain bike- and promptly got to practicing how to fall off in the sand. But the sand doesn’t hurt too bad, and I find it much easier to stay upright on the paved or gravel trails.

bike fall

I found surfing to be darn near impossible. But I don’t live by an ocean.

I applied for a job I thought I really wanted, but failed either the interview or the 4 hours of homework. Turns out, I got something that fit me better and the person they hired has already left (in less than 6 months). Bullet dodged, methinks.

Just like we adventure every day and we are brave every day, we fail every day. I am no different. Sometimes it hurts people, sometimes it goes unnoticed. It’s almost always fixable. And it is always forgivable, though some may choose not to forgive.

Failure is just the less-fun part of learning; a constant reminder that we are never done learning.

Leave a Reply

