Reverb 13 | December 17 |Habit

30 days: They say it takes 30 days to make or break a habit.  What did you start?  What did you quit?

A major character flaw of mine is that I am pretty resistant to change. I don’t wish to be this way, and almost all of my most cherished moments in life occurred at moments of change: graduations, meeting new people, first apartments, falling in love, and so on, so I can’t fully understand why I dislike change so much.

As you might imagine, with an attitude about change like that, new habits are hard to make and old habits are hard to break.

Hard, but not impossible.

The most-formed habit I made this year was regular bike commuting to and from work. I don’t generally do it 5 days a week, because 21 miles a day every day can get a bit tiring, but I know it is a pretty hard-wired habit because the days I take the bus (my winter transit preferred option) in the summer I am all flustered and disorganized. Driving in?! Forget about. I’m a hot mess. Seems to me to be a pretty healthy, fun, and overall positive habit to have and I feel pretty committed to it, so I imagine it will stick around. I would like to get to the point this summer that I am commuting by bike every day, weather permitting.

I don’t think I broke any habits this year, despite some hearty efforts. Habits that would be worth breaking:

  • Biting my fingernails.
  • Visiting the vending machine when I am stressed at work.
  • Leaving my clean laundry in the laundry room for weeks and just running down there to select clothing items I am looking for.
  • Dropping all my personal belongings on the table closest to our entry way and leaving them there.
  • Hitting the snooze button ten-gajillion times in the morning, only to be left running around like a crazy person.

habit

Leave a Reply

