Reverb 13 | December 23 | The Race Before You

The race set out for you: Tell us about how you’ve been running along in 2013 and the race(s) you intend to run in 2014.  These can be literal races or just the road of life.  What did your path look like this year, and are you choosing the same for 2014?

2013 was a special race– a months-long sprint towards a finish line that left me dancing the night away in the midst of 200 of my most favorite people. It’s a race I’ll never forget. A moment where the finish line was really just another starting line of life, a jumping off points for the races Aaron and I will run together.

That said, I don’t need to run another wedding planning race again. Ever. And I am looking forward to some actual, literal running races this year.

The day after Christmas (obviously, I am writing this behind schedule)– a day I was feeling like I ate a dozen or so too many Christmas cookies and like we had already been locked in the house all winter (without much thought to the idea that there are still 2-3 months of winter ahead of me)– I signed up for five running events. Five! Here’s the rundown:

  • February 8: TC Valentine’s 5K
  • March 8: TC 100% Irish for a Day 5K
  • April 12: Goldy’s 10 Mile
  • July 4: TC Red, White, and Boom! Half Marathon
  • October 5: TC 10 Mile

The TC races are hosted by Twin Cities in Motion, the organization that hosts the Twin Cities Marathon (also October 5). These races are part of the TC Summit Challenge, in which I received early bird pricing for each race as well as a special edition pull-over jacket. But the biggest bonus of signing up for the Summit Challenge was the opportunity to bypass the lottery system to gain entry to the TC 10 mile.

So, if you’re looking for me this summer, I am probably on the parkways and lake trails, running the race before me.

10mile

Leave a Reply

