Reverb 13 | December 25 | Covet

Covet: What did you covet this year?  Are you working towards getting that or just admiring it from afar?  Is it a tangible thing or just an idea?  Tell us about what you’ve got your sights on.

Covet. To wish for longingly. A sin, if you are a reader of the Bible.

We are not supposed to long for and desire those things which are not our own. And yet, we sometimes come by it a bit naturally, no? Someone’s job. Someone’s quaint home or trendy apartment. Someone’s vacation. Someone’s new gadget or toy.

I thought very hard about this question and what it means to covet, because I did not want to sit atop my high horse and tell you all that my life and thoughts are completely pure and void of material wants. But when does a want become a covet? How bad do you have to want something before you covet it?

So I will admit to this, and for most who know me, it will come as no surprise: this year I was absolutely covetous of a perfect wedding. Maybe not perfect as the wedding industry would describe it and I was very comfortable giving up control and letting things just happen.

But that doesn’t mean it didn’t consume my every thought– waking and sleeping– for months. And that is, I think, the danger of coveting and the slippery slope between really wanting and coveting. The want is so great and so tangible, that you can think and speak of almost nothing else, and to think or speak of something else takes great effort. And there is much time spent worrying that you won’t have what you covet, and this feeling of miserable desire will never fade.

I was lucky. I got exactly what I coveted and I will trumpet the success of our wedding day until I am 104 years old. Looking back on the months leading up to the wedding, though, I let this ridiculous desire for a perfect wedding crowd out so many other great things. How many wonderful conversations did I miss because I was busy blathering about dresses and guest lists? How many times was I only half-present because my mind was on invitation design and budgets? I’ll never know, but it was assuredly too many.

Covet. To overlook, ignore, and miss out on what you already have for the dogged pursuit of a future something that is likely no better and of no greater value.

Leave a Reply

