Reverb 14: A Yearly Blogging Project

In 2010, I joined a little blogging movement called Reverb, in which bloggers from around the world answered a prompt every day in the month of December. The prompts are meant for writers to reflect on the year that is coming to a close and dream/plan/project for the year to come.

When I heard about Reverb in 2010, it felt like a perfect time for me to take a month and really reflect on the year in which my formal education came to a close, my career started, and the first seed idea of running a marathon had been planted. You can read Reverb 10 posts here.

But in December 2011, I realized that was the year I needed to really reflect. As the clock literally struck midnight and we rang in 2011, I was completely unaware that I was falling in love and that a simple, thoughtful text message 2 days later would likely change the trajectory of my life forever. I had my first sip of true wilderness and have wanted to keep drinking from that cup since. I completed my first (and so far only) marathon battered but not broken. You can read my Reverb11 posts here.

When December 2012 rolled in, I laughed at how naive I had been the previous two years, because 2012 had been The Year and Reverb was going to be vitally important to putting it all together. I started 2012 unemployed, terrified, depressed, and feeling broke. I ended it fully employed, engaged, as a homeowner, and with a new dog. A total 180. You can read my Reverb12 posts here.

Last year, in 2013, the pattern continued and I felt so strongly that this was the Most Important Year. We had gotten married, gone adventuring, I had changed jobs. There was so much happening that I felt like it needed all to get captured ASAP. You can read my Reverb 13 posts here.

So, here I am in my 5th year of doing a Reverb project and you can imagine how I am feeling– like this is the most important year for reflection. But this year is notably different than all the years before, and I imagine that will really show in the writing I do this month. For the first time since 2010, I do not feel like I am in transition. I feel like 2014 was the year I got to spend some time settling in to my own life, and it feels so good. Sure, there are still changes and adventures, but now there is, like, a “home base” both literally and figuratively.

I am so looking forward to sharing my thoughts on the year with you and looking forward to 2015. I hope you will read along, blog along, journal along, or find another way to reflect on the year you’ve had.

All the love,

Kate

this year

Leave a Reply

