Reverb 14 | December 15 | Soul Food

Soul food: What food did you discover this year? Or maybe you discovered a new way to prepare your favorite food. Or a new cookbook. Or a new restaurant. Tell us about your culinary adventures.

I gotta be straight with you all– I thought really hard about this prompt. I tried and tried to think about examples of new foods or things I learned to cook or discovered restaurants, but frankly nothing rose to this level of importance.

Don’t get me wrong. I really love food. Like, really love food.

But I just don’t think about it this much. Or maybe like I said in my One Word post, this year has been about celebrating things that aren’t new– loving what we have.

And in that case, let me sing the praises of these $0.54 dreams:

IMG_20140704_100523_312

Seasonally sprinkled cake donuts. No fancy flavors, no gourmet dough, no 21st century cooking methods. Just a perfectly solid and delicious cake donut. The sriracha-peanut butter donut? The brioche dough, custard-filled donut? Fads. And they will eventually fall the way of the cupcake and the cake pop. But a perfectly traditional cake donut? This is the stuff love and legends and Saturday mornings are made of.

 

Leave a Reply

