Reverb 14 | December 19 | Challenges

Challenges. What did you wrestle with in 2014?

Expectations.

What others expect from me (and feeling unable/unwilling to meet those expectations).

What I expect from others (and feeling let down when they don’t meet the expectations I never told them I had of them).

What I expect from myself (and feeling like a failure when I don’t succeed).

I struggle to meet people (or myself) where they are at. I like things the way I like them. I don’t like change. I really do not like to be told what to do. When someone else expresses an expectation of me that is different than the expectations I have for myself, I tend to resent the person rather than ask to reconcile our different ideas.

I don’t like to lower my expectations, either (see “I don’t like change”). It feels like I am saying, “Oh. I see you suck at this, so I will just be more accepting of your suck-itude.” Then we are all just wallowing in suck-itude, and that, well… that sucks.

I probably kickstart an effort to be a “nicer” person every 4-6 months or so, and my efforts usually center around adjusting expectations. But each time, after about 10 days or so, I give up. What does that say about me? I do not know.

Maybe 2015 will be the year I can be more flexible? Or maybe it will be the year we all suck just a little less.

Leave a Reply

