Reverb 14 | December 25 | Thanks & Gratitude

Thanks and Gratitude: What are you so grateful for? How did you count your blessings in 2014?

I originally posted this at Thanksgivingtime. It is so easy to count all these blessings, even on the tough days.

For my family. For the family I was born into, who have all my firsts and know me to my bones. For the family I married into, who know all the parts of Aaron I wish I knew and who love and respect the new family he and I have created.

For my husband. For only picking on me a little when I dress just like him, for maintaining the commitment to adventure, for making coffee every morning, for his love of donuts.

For my friends. For longtime friends who do not let time and distance muddy the waters, for friends introducing me to new friends, for the emails and the texts and the snail mail.

For my friends who let me get entirely too drunk on a beach in Rhode Island, for my friends who let me wear Zubaz to a holiday festival in downtown Red Wing, for my friends who tolerate me biking & showing up sweaty to happy hours in the summer, for my wine book club.

For my health. For a great running season, for bike commuting, for learning to downhill ski.

For the people who gather at our home for dinner, for the people who gather at our home to celebrate semi-obscure Norwegian holidays, for the people who gather at our home to listen to records, for the people who gather at our home to visit the dog.

For coffee in the mornings, for craft beers in the evenings, for whiskey under the stars, and for Aquavit (but only once).

For the weddings and babies and birthdays that brought us together in celebration, for the losses that brought us together in mourning. For the love that keeps us together in the times in between.

For the fields of wind turbines on road trips, for the Japanese gardens on the hill side, for the summer evening baseball games, for the early morning bike rides.

For pretty running shoes, for Instagram #selfieswithcats, for good haircuts, for good books, for vegetable gardens.

For these things, I give thanks.

Leave a Reply

