Reverb16 | December 21 | Time

Time. It’s something we never have enough of and can never get back once it’s spent. How do you prioritize your time? What would you like to make more time for?

I spend too much time:

  • Worrying.
  • Watching bad television.
  • Reading internet drivel.
  • Thinking about what to wear, cook, or do next.
  • Procrastinating.
  • Complaining.

I don’t spend enough time:

  • Reading books.
  • Working out (besides running. But, like seriously girl, do a sit up).
  • Cleaning the house or doing laundry.
  • Learning something new.
  • Improving at the things I love to do, like cycling or writing.
  • Traveling.

I see the list and know what I should do. Less of the things in the first list, and more of the things in the second list. It makes sense on paper, but is harder in real life. I do not understand why social media and crap television are such strong sirens and why I repeatedly crash on the shores of wasted time.

[FIRST WORLD PROBLEM AHEAD– THIS IS ESSENTIALLY A RECAP OF MY INCREDIBLE PRIVILEGE AND FORTUNE] Part of my struggle with time management is making choices, right? I have sort of been a Jack of All Trades, Master of None for a significant portion of my adult life. And I kind of like living that way, but sometimes I would like to master something. But putting more time into, say, cycling, means time away from running or reading. And should I really be learning something new if I can hardly keep up with what I already have on my plate? I don’t know. And it all means time away from the house, where I already think we hardly keep our heads above water between the cleaning and the pets.

But tonight, I am keeping this brief because I have spent this entire quiet, pre-holiday week with my face buried in books (I am on the third one since Sunday) and this is time well-spent.

Leave a Reply

