Reverb16 | December 27 | Gifts

Gifts. Sometimes we get gifts that we don’t want or need. Are you honest with the person who gave it to you? Or do your gift givers follow a tried-and-true wish list? If you’re returning a gift this season, what is it and why?

Let’s get one thing out of the way: I return almost nothing, ever, in the history of my life. Not the things you buy my and not the things I buy myself. Why? Because it’s bad enough when I make a purchasing mistake (ugh wrong size, not what I needed, oh I had one of these after all) or when I get a bad gift (not that common– thanks, friends and family!), but I am not going to take one mistake and drive it and myself straight into the depths of hell by trying to make a return at a store. Especially after the holidays.

I do not like crowds. I do not like the Byzantine Return Code of Law of the American Retail Store. I do not like receiving store credit for less than the item’s value because now that item is on sale. I do not like waiting. I particularly despise waiting in one line for 30+ minutes, only to be told that the return line is Over There.

There is not a gift I could receive that I would dislike more than going to a retail store after the holidays. And even there was, if it’s value is less than $100, it is not worth it to me go into the store. Yes. Stores will have to pay me at least $100 to enter and deal with their special brand of post-holiday misery.

The gifts that aren’t quite right for me are still usually right for someone I know, so I offer them up. Not as a re-gift, but as an honest, “Hey, I got this thing and I can’t use it, but you might. Want it?” Some stuff gets donated, because I know there is someone out there who needs it more than I. And some stuff sticks around because even though I don’t like it, I like who gave it to me and that’s enough to give it a home for a least a little while.

Leave a Reply

